RSS

Homemade Chicken Broth

29 Jan

I am not a big fan of canned chicken broth, even though it’s said low sodium, organic, 100% natural etc etc…canned food is still canned food..At least there’s a teeny bit of preservatives in there. Otherwise, how could the broth stay fresh for a long time?

As a soup person, I always make my own chicken broth from scratch.

Homemade Chicken broth
Ingredients:
1 whole stewing hen

The meat is not edible (too tough cause it’s an old age chicken- sorry for my bad English
1 jicama -sliced
1/2 inch – 1 inch ginger or more
3-5 cloves of garlic
Optional: 1 onion -chopped
Dash of salt

Directions:
1. Cut up the chicken, throw away the skins and cut out some excess fat

2. Meanwhile, boil about 1/4 pot of water

3. When the water boils, put in the cut up chicken for about 30 seconds to “wash away” the impurities. This will prevent some foams and build up in the soup later on

4. Take out the chicken and discard the water
5. Refill the pot with clean water and throw in the rest of the ingredients with the chicken to the pot. Fill it up until almost everything’s covered

6. I used my wonderful pressure cooker to cook the broth, which only took me 25 minutes


Kath, my mom said this pressure cooker is also from Germany! πŸ˜€
Note: For those who don’t have pressure cooker, bring the water to boil then reduce the heat to medium low and boil about 45 minutes to 1 hour. Skim off any foams.
7. Done!

8. Discard the chicken. Use strainer to strain the rest of the ingredients.

9. The soup looks oily, despite throwing away most of the skins. Fear not, pop this into the fridge and after an hour or two later, skimming off the fat will be a breeze! πŸ˜€

Nothing beats homemade chicken broth!

What’s your favorite way of making chicken broth?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2011 in food, recipe

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Homemade Chicken Broth

  1. leashieloo

    February 1, 2011 at 7:36 am

    There’s nothing more I enjoy than homemade chicken broth! My mom made a really good broth, but I don’t know what she did to make it 😦

     
  2. Kath (Eating for Living)

    January 30, 2011 at 6:10 am

    Haha, yay for pressure cookers! πŸ˜€

    I must admit that chicken broth is something I’ve never made so far because it belongs to the “frightening recipes” category. But the way you made it looks very easy, so a lot of my chicken-broth-anxiety is gone now! πŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to what you’ll be doing with it!

     
  3. lequan

    January 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Great post Jos! When I have the time and don’t feel too lazy, this is the exact method I use to make chicken broth. I don’t have a pressure cooker though 😦 so I use your other method and boil for longer. We discard the meat too cause the chicken we use is called/translated as “old chicken” in Chinese. Fresh chicken broth is so much yummier, isn’t it? Have a great weekend!

     
    • Jos

      January 29, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Yup, that’s the exact “old chicken” that I used as well πŸ˜€ and nothing beats fresh chicken broth!

       

Leave a comment