RSS

Working like a machine, how to greet your elders

04 Oct

Usually Monday is not the busiest day for me but today I felt like I’m working non-stop. Part of it because I took off a bit early on Friday to take my bro to the clinic for the injection.
So Cal weather finally starts indicating that Fall season is here. I drove in the drizzle and cloud this morning.
The best part of my commute is I don’t have to take freeway to get stuck in the daily traffic. LA is the worst traffic freeway, I tell ya.

The best part of my commute is to pass this hill daily and enjoying the view of the luxury houses on the hills 🙂

Some food pics – not all from today but mostly are.

Nothing beats homemade whole wheat toast topped with natural strawberry jam and pair up with unpictured hot green tea 😀

Lots of fruits. And I had an apple in addition to these

watermelon in this chilly weather? Well someone gotta finish that..it's super juicy and sweeeeeeeeeet!

More fruits!

So today I was working like a machine at work. What can I do when I have 30+ projects line up for this week. Pretty much after I finished with each project, I hit “send” and moved on to the next one and so on. Totally like a production machine, I tell ya. Not complaining. In some ways it helps to pass the time faster. Without me realizing, it was already lunch time, and mid break time and finally time to go home! All I need is a full concentration. Once my concentration disturbed, I’ll be dragging everything.

Question of the day: How do you usually greet your elder (be that your parents, aunts, grandparents, in-laws etc?

Sound like a weird question, but in Asian tradition when I come home or leaving the house I’m supposed to greet or say bye to the parents. Not just simply say “I’m leaving, bye” but you have to say “Mom/Dad, I’m leaving, bye, or “Hi Mom or Hi dad” when I get home. Same thing if aunts or uncles coming over to my place, I have to greet them like “Hi Uncle A/ Hi Aunt C” etc. And to my hubby’s parents (parents in law?) I can’t call their names, instead I call them “Mom” and “Dad” as well. The other options is to call them as “Mom-in law” or “Father-in law” (in Chinese of course since they don’t speak any English) but those words are too hard for me to pronounce so simply calling them “Mom” and “Dad” is way easier 😀

It’s simply considered to be inappropriate if I didn’t call out their “name” (mom, dad, uncle, aunt etc) and just simply say hi or bye or just smile and nod.

So I’d like to know if this manner also applies to other cultures or only in Asians?

I’d love to hear all your opinions! 😀

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Working like a machine, how to greet your elders

  1. Pingback: A Poker Face «
  2. traynharder23

    October 11, 2010 at 10:10 am

    ahhaha only a PHO place would play Taken 🙂

    possibly from the cold, that’s what people have been telling me. it’s one of those workout slumps. not feeling motivated. bleh.

     
  3. Sagojyou

    October 7, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Okay, first, CAN I LEASE HAVE YOUR HOME-MADE BREAD????!! How the heck do you even make bread?!?! Never done it before, and I probably won’t (because I’d rather make something else – lol) You should send it to me 😀

    OMG Why are you so busy? It’d get easier over time. 😉

    How I greet older people…depends on what their relationship is to me.

    Mom/Dad/Grandparents: Not formal
    Aunt/Uncle: Not too formal either
    Older people that I don’t know: Formal (bow down, polite words; all the traditional Japanese style applies here)

    I’m so Japanese, I know 😉 lol

     
    • Jos

      October 11, 2010 at 8:23 am

      I have this bread machine to do the kneading and rising 🙂 and then bake it at my convection countertop oven. It’s not that hard actually if you don’t have to hand knead the bread and just need a good recipe to make it turn out good 😀

      I’m busy at work cause we’re sort of short of staff and the holiday season is coming up as well..so work starts pile up but for some reason I always kinda figure out how to finish stuff on time 😛

       
  4. traynharder23

    October 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    my gramma used to yell at me for not greeting my dad when he came home with “you have come home, father” (in chinese).

    so i get it 🙂

    thanks for the good luck! i’ll take pictures. i just kicked that match back into my closet. i have no idea what to do with it!!

     
  5. Danielle

    October 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Mmmmm. Homemade bread! I’ve finally found a decent recipe (ok, mix, but still!) for gluten-free bread I like. This reminds me I need to make a new loaf soon!

    As for greeting elders, it’s relatively informal for me, but always polite and courteous. Sometimes I’ll say “Hi mom!” other times it’s just “Hello!” There are no formal rules about including “titles” when dealing with people. I still don’t know how to refer to my bf’s parents, though. I don’t want to call them Laura and Mike… but mom and dad seems weird, too. Probably because I rarely see them, though. The bf calls my mom “mom” or “Big G” (her name’s Georgette). Clearly, we’re very relaxed about the whole thing. As long as you talk to them with respect, titles don’t really matter.

     
  6. Ameena

    October 5, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Addressing elders can be tricky in Indian/Pakistani culture so I just call everyone Aunty or Uncle. Even my in-laws! It just makes it so much easier than trying to figure out their exact title.

    You are lucky to not have a freeway commute. Those are the worst! Especially the dreaded 405!!

     
  7. squigglefloey

    October 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    That homemade wheat bread looks SO good. I tend to shy away from making my own bread since the process takes so long and requires you to be at home usually the whole 4hrs. Yikes! How did you make yours?
    And best of luck this week — I can’t imagine how you must feel with all those projects. What type of job do you work at?

     

Leave a Reply

 
