RSS

New and improved juicer, a little binge and accepting hand-me-down goodies

11 Oct

First of all, I enjoyed reading everyone’s comment on my last post regarding how formal/strict/rules to address your elders in your cultures. Sometimes it can get tricky (especially in Asian/Eastern cultures) and a little daunting. But since it’s part of the cultures, we just have to roll with it, right?

Ok moving on…

It’s pretty tough for me to find sometime for myself to just sit down and write a post without being interrupted. Good thing is I still can read other blogs from my Crackberry but sadly is I can’t really comment on it right away, though I really really want to. Reading other blogs makes me want to update mine as often as possible as well. But oh well it’s not the quantity matters but quality, right?

So I’ll try to write more stuff in sporadic short posts instead of uninspired daily posts.

Just a little recap here.

Last week our So Cal weather was gloomy and cold, indicating Fall weather is almost here. But that’s not the case. It’s been pretty sunny and quite warm..again. I guess the weather pattern will be hot and cold simultaneously until it’s settled around early November, where it’ll be completely cooling down. And did I mention that we’ve been battling ants in our kitchen until last week?

ant bait – lets see if it actually works – up to this point we haven’t seen any ants around anymore

And I haven’t been very good packing my foods during daytime. Usually I packed 2 containers of fruits so it’ll sustain my hunger until dinner time. Good thing is I stashed my work drawer with these snack bars

Wow haven’t had these for a while. Personally I prefer whole foods instead of snack bar/energy bar/protein bar/whatever bar you call it (homemade bar is the only exception since I know what I put in there 😉 – I tried making it but didn’t turn out as good yet….gotta experiment on it more!)

Most of the bars are on the sweet sides and I am not too much of sweet tooth, so my savory cravings kick in! I crave for chips!! Potato chips/corn chips/whatever chips! I’ve been eyeing on this Popchip on the vending machine at work for a looong time and I usually shrugged it off and not getting it.

Until this day:

I lost the battle


Finished this whole bag…good thing only 100 calories pack and I only had one bag! Didn’t go back and get another one…a small bag for $1 is quite very pricey!

After haven’t chips for a long time, it actually tasted pretty good but very salty for my taste. I’ve never known that chips can be that salty. It might be because it was BBQ flavor. I usually opt to original flavor because you can’t go wrong wit that. But between BBQ and Sour Cream Onion flavors (the only choices I had), I opt to BBQ one.

I thought I’d binge or felt like crap after having that bag of chips but I didn’t. I also didn’t go crazy on my workout after I got home did a sweaty yoga count and an interval workout on Saturday morning.

A little update on my brother’s condition: fever is not as high but not completely gone yet. Doctors adding more medications but he’s ordering him to stop it for 2 days (Sunday and Monday) to see if his fever is from his allergic reaction to one of the drugs (he’s currently taking 6 drugs (5 tablets – 1 injection). I don’t want to say his condition is getting a lot better…YET, but he looks more energetic than before. At least he’s not sleeping for the whole day or look weak or having hard time to breathe after walking up the stairs. So the juice does help?

My parents insisted getting a bigger juicer so we’ll get more juice and dryer pulps.

Source

It’s said this brand is the FIRST one that came up with this juice extractor. Unlike the small one we got, you don’t have to peel any fruits on this one. The RPM is much higher and the construction is much better. It’s bigger, a little heavier than the one we have. We just got it yesterday at KOHL’S and after giving out my hubbys’ info applying for its credit card so we can take advantage of the 20% discount and additional $10 off coupon, this juicer came down to $93.00 something from $116…and yes that was the price after the tax as well. Not bad.

We also made these steamed buns!

Chocolate and red bean (the plain looking top) filled steamed buns.

Since I was running low on white sugar, I used brown sugar instead, hence resulting a yellowish looking steamed buns instead of white..haha! Who cares..they still edible, taste great and dairy free as well!
I modified my bread recipe for this. So instead of baking it, I steamed it. Easy huh?

The only thing is you need a giant steamer like this

Source

Questions of the day:
Do you usually write a draft for your blog posts or do you usually write it and publish it right away?

I prefer writing a post spontaneously and publish it right away. But lately it’s been pretty hard for me to find a time to actually do that so I’ve been writing a draft at “odd times.” If I don’t publish the finished draft on the same day, it might get unpublished ever since after days go by, the post becomes irrelevant. Sort of kinda a waste, I know.

Do you like to accept hand-me-down stuff from your relatives, when you know it’s useful but NOT that useful at the same time? Not to mention that person who loves giving out stuff is known having way TOO MANY stuff in the house/garage?

One of my relative is famous with that. She’s been giving me lots of her stuff like a pyrex container without any lid, a small electric steamer which can’t fit any of my single serving bowls and wooden bed frames which so complicated to put together that it just ended up in my garage, occupying the space. I know she has good intention, but at the same time I am not appreciating her passing on her junks older stuff to me just because I just moved to this new house. Just because I have more garage/storage space than her DOESN’T MEAN it HAS to be filled up!

Have you had any steamed buns before?

Whew, this turned out to be such a long post! Hope you enjoy reading it! 😀 Laters, peeps!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “New and improved juicer, a little binge and accepting hand-me-down goodies

  1. actorsdiet

    October 15, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    i blog in ecto, so i usually have a draft done first. i love steamed buns! never had a home made one before

     
  2. traynharder23

    October 14, 2010 at 9:16 am

    food processor is in progress- on the shipping 🙂

    and don’t worry about teen mom. it’s not a show you should be watching LOL!

    i know, i’m weird like that. yam skin seems okay to me! 🙂 MORE FIBER!!!

     
  3. Ameena

    October 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I detest bugs! I’m glad I live in a place that doesn’t get more than a stray fly here and there…ants totally creep me out.

    I am not a Pop Chip fan but if you haven’t tried Plantain Chips from TJ’s you must give them a shot! They are out of this world amazing!

    I’ve never had steamed buns – the closest thing were some veggie dumplings I had a while back. They were good!

     
  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

    October 13, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    ants–hate them!

    i always have some ideas on my blogger waiting to be published folder, just a paragraph or two, just something to work with…helps me to know something is half done and waiting 🙂

     
  5. Sagojyou

    October 12, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Okay, I’ve had it! You HAVE to make me food! 😀 Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang those buns; haven’t had them since going vegan. Waaah! D:

    Seriously, everybody’s been having the bar recently! And I’ve never seen it before!! Where did you get yours??

    Yeay juice! I’m glad your brother is feeling a little better 🙂 That’s an improvement, right? What did you do with your other juicer?

    Ha ha, I rarely save a draft; I’m like you. I like to type it, then hit publish! 😀 I’m awesome like that 😉 (except for when I was in Japan.)

    O Man. Pop chips are so good! But I don’t think they were vegan. hmm…But I remember them being good! 😀

    Haaaaa, people don’t really hand me down stuff, so I don’t have that problem. lol

    Actually, I’ve never had a real, home-made steam bun before!

     

Leave a Reply

 
