RSS

Homemade Almond Butter with Flaxseeds

24 Jan

When I saw my local grocery store sold their dry roasted raw almonds for $3.99/lbs, I know I just had to grab some! Most places I’ve seen are selling at much higher price! Besides they sell it in a bulk bin so we can scoop as many as we want. I got total 3lbs of almonds.

I bought a bag of Roasted Golden Flaxseeds from TJ a while back and it had been sitting in my freezer forever. An idea popped in my head: Why don’t I make Almond Butter with Flaxseeds instead?

Super Easy Homemade Almond Butter Flaxseeds
Ingredients:
1 cup of dry roasted raw almonds
About 3/4 cup Roasted golden flaxseeds – I’d reduce it to 1/2 cup next time

Directions:
1. Blend flaxseeds in your food processor until mostly grounded

2. Next pour in the almonds

3. Blend at high speed for about a minute – occasionally stop and scrub the sides. – at this point you got almond meal

4. Keep blending until it becomes nut butter

Like this!

VOILA!

Hmm…the smell of the roasted flaxseeds sure heavenly!

Store in a glass jar and refrigerate.

Use it for dippings, make raw almond cookies etc.

Super easy!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2011 in food, recipe

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Homemade Almond Butter with Flaxseeds

  1. leashieloo

    January 26, 2011 at 8:29 am

    That looks super easy! I looove almond butter, and I like the addition of flaxseed!

     
  2. Kath (Eating for Living)

    January 25, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    What a fancy idea to put flaxseed into it! Looks awesome! šŸ˜€

     
  3. Ameena

    January 25, 2011 at 8:14 am

    I use the exact same flaxseed from TJ’s – it is the best and the cheapest! I wish I could eat almonds because I would definitely make this…it looks divine!

     
    • Jos

      January 25, 2011 at 8:23 am

      Could you eat other type of nuts or are you allergic to all kinds of nuts?

       

Leave a Reply

 
