RSS

Ghee

27 Feb

I’ve made ghee before, but it was only a very small quantity. It turned out ok but I think I didn’t cook it long enough nor strained it properly. From that point, I decided to give this another try and it would be better.

I almost ran out of it so yesterday I had to make a quick run to TJ store to get lbs of Kerrygold unsalted butter so I could replenish my ghee stash.

Ghee
Ingredients:
1 lb of unsalted butter (pastured, grass fed would be the best)
a pot

Directions:
1. Melt the butter on the pot in low heat – no need to pre heat the pot prior and no need to bring the butter to room temperature

2. Keep the heat low- the butter will melt and eventually the protein would start to separate

3. I tried my best not to scoop the “white part”

4. The last part was the hardest.

5. So I just put them in the small jar

Do you see the white part underneath? Yup that’s the “milk” part and the top part is the oil – which is the one that you’d use for cooking.

I tried to use coffee strainer and mesh to strain it, but it wasn’t that great. I could still see the “milk part” sneaked through so I figured I just scooped out the oil.

Anyway, now I had my ghee fully stacked and hopefully it’ll last for at least 2 weeks?

TJ has the most reasonable price for Kerrygold butter, but I think it was still quite pricey (8oz for $2.79?) I saw Costco carries it too but only the salted ones. I read on Paleohacks.com that it doesn’t matter whether using salted/unsalted butter to make ghee.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2011 in recipe

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Ghee

  1. Shu Han Lee

    March 7, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    yup it’s made from milk from the cows from the normandy region of france which is pretty much all grasfed (: but yup stick to kerrygold if you can find it cheap anyway! (:

     
  2. Shu Han Lee

    March 7, 2011 at 2:32 am

    Hi there! Great job! I did this last year too, but liek you, can’t manage to separate out the white milk solids properly, so it didn’t keep as long as I would like ): I can get kerrygold butter in london for just a bit over a pound for a block, so it’s very cheap 😉 Some brands I’ve researched to be grassfed are lurpak, anchor, president, and yeo valley so maybe you could try them out? (funnily, kerrygold’s the cheapest of them all so I just get kerrygold)

     
    • Jos

      March 7, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks for the info! I knew Anchor brand when I was in Indo before, but I think over here KG is actually cheaper and more widely available. Is President also grass fed? I used to buy their cheese spread – so good but too bad too much chemical stuff in there so I stop buying it.

       
  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    February 28, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Great job, Jos! 😀

     
    • Jos

      February 28, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Thanks! 😀

       
  4. Pupcake

    February 28, 2011 at 9:50 am

    I’ve made ghee with salted and unsalted and honestly, the only difference I ever find is that the white milk/whey solids carry the salt with them. (Then they’re too salty to eat, haha!)

     
    • Jos

      February 28, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Cool! Thanks for the info!

       

Leave a Reply

 
