RSS

One Pain Gone, Another Comes Along

14 Apr

Good news: my stiff neck felt tons better so I could do my workout this morning.

Not so good news: I woke up today with a dry throat – not that severe yet but I felt discomfort, especially swallowing any food with strong spices.

This morning workout was quite something. I had to brave myself doing cartwheel. From what I remember, I haven’t done it before, even when I was a kid.

Picture links to the original source

So my FUGLY cartwheel looked more like this:

Picture links to its original source

Regardless in the end of the whole workout, I was covered in sweat. In fact, I could splash sweat around from my hair – gross I know..sorry.

As usual, refuel with post workout meal: one small baked sweet potato and some chicken meat from Steamed Whole Chicken

For my sore/dry/irritated throat, I packed up some Vitamin C : oranges and lemon slices


I like sour stuff, but not that much that I could eat lemon slices just like that. I dunked these slices into hot water so I could have an instant hot lemonade. Been drinking that for the whole day. The lemon soothes my throat, so good.

Guess what? Hubby K made the dinner today, which was steamed Chinese veggies and stir fry Cabbage with Cauliflower seasoned with Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute and Coconut Aminos. For the protein, just need to heat up whatever I made yesterday. So convenient to do batch cooking in advance to save time for the next meals 😀

Tonight’s dinner/tomorrow’s lunch

Were you very active when you were a kid?
I considered myself as a timid and quiet kid (according to my mom). Vaguely, I mostly spent my time playing by myself and in grade school, I didn’t really hang out with a group of other kids that much either. I started to be more social towards junior/high school.

Alright, I gotta go to bed early so hopefully this dry/irritated throat will be gone by tomorrow. Blame it to the constant hot/cold weather of Southern California!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in food, life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “One Pain Gone, Another Comes Along

  1. How much house can I afford

    April 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    are you on linkedin?

     
  2. Shu Han Lee

    April 17, 2011 at 7:50 am

    I think honey lemon water really helps! I’m having a bit of a flu too ): traditional chinese medicine will say not to eat oranges when you have a cough/sore throat though!

    *claps* on your cartwheels! I replaced that part of the workout with sth else heh, just don’t have the space in my tiny flat.

     
  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    April 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I could have said exactly the same about myself when I was a child: shy, quiet, not ver social, playing by myself. My dad wanted me to be active, and I think I was quite a disappointment for him.

    Sorry to hear you have a hurting throat. 😦 Hot water with a slice of fresh gingerroot usually helps me very well, but lemon slices are also fine. 🙂

     
  4. LeQuan

    April 15, 2011 at 7:21 am

    Aww…hope you feel better soon, dear. I’m just getting over a cold and it sucks. Great choice on the lemon slices. People keep telling me to try slices of ginger with honey. Take care!

     

Leave a Reply

 
