RSS

When in Doubt

17 Apr

Ah, my weekend is almost over and tomorrow back to work..again (gotta bring in those paychecks otherwise won’t be able to afford those groceries to make yummy and healthy food).

Today I finally got a chance to cook another “exotic” veggies: Swiss Chard!

The first thing came in my mind was: stir fry. Yup, I’m very Asian and stir frying is usually fool proof, especially cooking a new type of veggies for the first time. So I gathered the usual stir fry staple ingredients: onions, oil (I used Applegate bacon), some protein (I used my pre-cooked grass fed ground beef) and salt.

It has a slight earthy taste of beet, wasn’t quite a fan but not hate it either. I might not cook it long enough because the stems were still pretty chewy. Next time I should cook the stems first before dumping the leaves. But regardless, I packed these as part of my lunch for tomorrow

Anyway, wanna know what else I had for today? Ok here we go.

Post workout meal: baby food pureed butternut squash – one of my stash from the freezer. I’m glad this one wasn’t spoiled unlike last time!

Veggies with Beef Roast topped with Mushroom Gravy Sauce = delicious! Hubby K loved it as well!

I marinated some lamb shoulders for tomorrow (recipe coming soon if they turn out yummy) and I was wondering what should I do for another package of lamb shoulders. Then I remembered this:

I haven’t made Masala Lamb for a while so today I decided to make it again. But as usual, I could never even follow my own recipe to the T.

Some adjustments I did for today’s Masala Lamb:
– I added 3 tomatoes

– No coconut milk & jicama
– Used 1 cup beef broth
– 3 whole cloves
– Mashed the garlic, onions and shallots in mortar and pestle

– I blanched the lamb shoulders to remove the impurities

– Next I saute the mashed garlic/onions with masala paste and the cloves in low heat until fragrant

– Afterward I poured in 1 cup of beef broth, the lamb and chopped tomatoes

– Season with salt to taste, cover and let it cook on medium low for 30 minutes

The result? It tastes even MUCH BETTER than the first time I made this! The tomatoes added some slight tartness to the sauce. Plus since I didn’t use coconut milk, the sauce wasn’t that rich and thick. The lamb meat was super tender that it even pulled away from the bones very easily.

I was doubting if I should add the tomatoes in, fearing it’ll dilute the whole taste but it turned out not.

Any other idea how to cook Swiss Chard?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in food, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “When in Doubt

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    April 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    I have a swiss chard in my fridge right now because I’ve read it was akin to spinach and pok choi (which I both love). I haven’t made it yet, but my first idea was to put it into a stir fry. 😉

    In one of my cookbooks, I’ve seen a recipe for swiss chard in a curry flavored cream sauce which looked very good. I think you can also use it to rool up meat and make roulades with it.

     
  2. Daphne

    April 18, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Would blanching the chard help (kinda like how you have to blanch some veggies, like chinese broccoli, before stir-frying)? You’re SO brave for trying the chard. I don’t know how many times I’ve come THISCLOSE to picking up a bunch but chickened out last minute.

    Speaking of exotic veggies, what’s next on the list? 😀

     
    • Jos

      April 18, 2011 at 8:14 am

      It might help, I’ll try it next time. Trust me, I’ve been chickening out too many times and this time I just decided to pick it up and cook it. Next one? Dunno..maybe some other veggies that I’ve never even heard of..LOL.

       
  3. Ameena

    April 17, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    My mom cooks swiss shard Indian style but I have never made it myself. I think it’s pretty tasty!!

     
  4. Eimear Rose

    April 17, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    You’re right about needing to cook the stems separately first. I grew a bit of swiss chard once and while it was nicer than the store bought stuff, I still don’t think it’s that nice. Plus it’s full of oxalates, so it inhibits calcium, iron and zinc absorption. I tend to avoid spinach and chard as they’re basically cultivated poisons, not as bad as wheat, but not much better.
    The lamb looks delish!

     
    • Jos

      April 18, 2011 at 8:12 am

      Wow interesting info. Could you link me to the article that talks about spinach and chard as cultivate poisons? From what I’ve learned so far spinach and dark leafy veggies are full of iron, which supposedly good for our body. Thanks for sharing btw! 🙂

       
      • Eimear Rose

        April 18, 2011 at 9:38 am

        I just called it ‘poison’ myself in terms of it contains things types of phytates called oxalates that chemically bind to calcium iron, zinc and other minerals, meaning we can’t absorb (them I’ve read that in lots of different books and websites) and as wheat and other grains contains phytates that also prevent mineral absorption are grains are often referred to as ‘poisons’ in primal/paleo literature that’s why I called them that and also that in the wild they contain higher levels of oxalates, which people have bred out of them to an extent- oxalates provide the bitter/earthy taste. Ever notice after you eat spinach your teeth feel all funny? That’s the oxalates reacting with the calcium in your teeth, don’t know if it does your teeth any harm though. Spinach and chard *are* full of iron, so you weren’t lied to, but you can’t absorb very much of it. Cabbage, collards, kale, broccoli etc (vegetables in the brassica family) have more absorbable iron and calcium so although spinach and chard are great sources of vitamins A, C and K, I prefer to eat other greens that pack a heavy nutritional weight although I prefer the taste too. Google spinach and oxalates/oxalic acid for more info. Beets, chard and spinach are the same botanical family, chenopods, whereas cabbage and kale are brassicas. Hope that helps!

         

Leave a Reply

 
