RSS

Daily Archives: May 17, 2011

Taking Care of Some Stuff

Hello all…

Nothing much today either actually. As usual I started off my morning with a workout. This time I only did 12 minute workout as prescribed as I wasn’t really in a mood of a longer workout.

I had the usual post workout snack: 1/2 baked sweet potato.

And I’m not afraid to admit that I had one slice of my homemade whole wheat cranberry bread. Hm..soo good, especially toasted.

Then I made Braised Coconut Shredded Chicken and One Pot Baked Mixed Vegetables (combo this time was cabbage, tomatoes, carrots, and zucchini seasoned with celery salt) for our lunch.

And I went to my dentist for my usual teeth cleaning (gotta use up the insurance coverage before I am out of it after this month!) Did I tell you that I hate going to a dentist (no offense). I just never enjoy having my teeth being scrapped by the tool. And the noise…UGH!

We stopped by at my in law’s house to pick up some mails. My MIL (mother-in-law) was so kind that she offered us some bread that she got from her friend who owns a Chinese bakery. Reluctantly, I accepted some. She got 3 bags FULL OF bread! Although we can’t really communicate well (she doesn’t speak English and I don’t speak Chinese), at least I could understand her telling me to just take my time to look for a job. It’s always like this in the US. How could I refuse her for giving me the bread? She did that out of her kindness. Well I might have a bite here and there but poor Hubby K will be the only one who’s eating them. Ah!

Our dinner was a mix match of leftover from yesterday and this afternoon.

And I made another tray of Baked Yucca Root Fries 😀

Just remember to steam the yucca root before baking them! After steaming, sprinkle some salt and drizzle some oil, bake in 400°F for about 20-25 minutes. YUM!

Btw, I’d like to thank you for all the supportive and encouraging email, twitter etc (you know who you are :D) and I also want to apologize that I haven’t got a chance to comment back on your blogs. I’ll try to get around them as soon as I can. Again, thank you 🙂

Have a great night, everyone!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in food, life

 

Tags: , , ,

Braised Coconut Shredded Chicken

This recipe was inspired by Indonesian “lemper ayam” recipe (sticky rice with shredded chicken filling wrapped in banana leaves). Since sticky rice is totally not Paleo (grain, high starch, sugar etc) I decided to only make the shredded chicken filling.

Braised Coconut Shredded Chicken
Ingredients:
2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts
2-3 shallots
1/2 garlic cloves
2 stalks of lemon grass
1″ of galangal root
Handful of lime leaves
Salt
1/2 Tbsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/4 cup coconut milk
2 Tbsp coconut oil
3/4 cup of water

Directions:
1. Bring 3/4 cup water to boil.

2. Cook the chicken breasts for about 5 minutes (or until cooked). Reserve the water for future use (you just made your own chicken stock!) Let it cool.

3. After the meat has cooled down, shred the chicken with a fork. Set aside.

4. Chop the garlic and shallots (I used my Magic Bullet and pulsed them to get them minced). Cut and bruise the lemon grass. Slice the galangal root.

5. Heat 2 Tbsp coconut oil on medium heat. Saute the chopped garlic/shallot mixture with lemon grass, lime leaves and galangal until fragrant.

6. Mix in the shredded chicken breasts, pour in the coconut milk. Season with salt, pepper and coriander accordingly.

7. Turn up the heat to high and cook until all the water evaporated.

Discard the lemon grass, lime leaves and galangal. Serve with your favorite veggies side dish. This chicken will also be good in soup. Enjoy!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in food, recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Lazy Omelet with Tomatoes

A super easy dish that you can always make when you are in a pinch. Feel free to experiment with different herbs/spices but eggs and tomatoes are mandatory (hence the title) 😉

Braised Omelet with Tomatoes
Ingredients:
6 eggs
6 tomatoes
1/4 cabbage – shredded
Chopped onions
Handful of lemon basil or your favorite herbs
Salt and pepper

Directions:
1. Beat 6 eggs and fry it on the pan with 1 Tbsp of oil on medium heat to make an omelet. If you’re feeling lazy like me, don’t want to wash extra bowl and fork from beating the eggs, just crack all the eggs on the pan and break the yolks with your spatula

See, it still turned out as a perfect omelet 😀

2. Cut the omelet into small pieces using your wooden spatula on the pan (so no need to wash your cutting board and knife) and set aside.

3. Heat another 1 Tbsp of oil in medium high heat, saute the chopped onions, shredded cabbage and tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper accordingly.

4. When all the vegetables have wilted, mix in the chopped omelet and lemon basil herbs

5. Mix everything until combined and dinner is ready!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in food, recipe

 

Tags: , , ,