RSS

Need to Learn How to Relax

13 Apr

First of all, I’d like to thank Kath and Daphne for all the great suggestions for my stiff neck. I am still feeling it a bit, though I could turn my head to left side more.

Today I decided to take it easy and did some yoga to stretch out my stiff neck, instead of doing an actual workout didn’t do any workout. I need to stop feeling guilty for not working out regularly lately. Putting stress on myself won’t do me any good. Easy to say, hard to do. Even while typing this, there’s still a voice at the back of my head telling me I’m a loser. Shut it!

Yesterday I was a cooking mania – cooked 3 dishes almost the same time. Say what? During weekday after work and still could enjoy dinner before 8 pm?

I started off with the Coconut & Spices Beef Stew (with coconut milk, nutmeg, coriander and bay leaves).

Stir Fry Chinese greens with leftover Roasted Curried Cauliflower

Made Pan Seared Taco Salmons (salmon rubbed with taco seasonings and some salt- super easy and tasty!)

Dinner

I was going to enjoy my Butternut Squash soup, only to find out it’s spoiled (tasted sour) and I had to throw them away! *sad*

*sniff sniff* had to toss this away

But I remembered I still have 2 containers in the freezer and crossing my fingers those are still okay.

While enjoying the dinner, the Beef Stew and Steamed Whole Chicken were still cooking on the stove and Baked Spicy Curry Masala Chicken Legs in the oven

After dinner, I made another batch of emergency protein – Organic 100% Grass Fed Ground Beef seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, coriander, Italian seasonings, salt, pepper, chili powder and parsley.

In the end, I got 4 kinds of protein ready to be stocked in the fridge for a couple meals.

Two of the chicken legs went into my lunch box today

So my dinner today pretty much any protein from those plus steamed broccoli.

And I also made Seafood Mix Soup made with chicken stock that I got from the Steamed Whole Chicken.

Plus baked yucca root!



I grew up eating this in Indo long time ago – back there we called it “cassava”. I loved cassava chips, fried cassava etc. When I came to the States, I had no idea that yucca is actually cassava. Now I know and planning to get more of these and make more baked yucca fries! 😀

What’s your favorite way of eating cassava/yucca?


Do you ever feel “guilty” for not getting your tasks done and how do you talk yourself out from it?

Have a great night!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in food, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Need to Learn How to Relax

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    April 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I’m so happy your neck is a little better now! And I think that you deserve all the relaxation you can get! You do *so* much! 😯 And now all this wonderful cooking again! I’ve thought about it and decided I should take you as an example and do more cooking in advance. I’ve already started that a little, and I appreciated a lot to have something good at hand for a quick meal. It often happens that I come home tired and hungry and then don’t want to wait another half and hour or longer until something is ready. This really isn’t so easy with Paleo, it needs more planning because you can’t just have a sandwich anymore. (And the brown rice eat needs rather long cooking as well.)

    Funny, but remember the slimy “yam” I had a while ago? That yucca root looks exactly like it when I bought it! (I’ve looked at the taro again, but one is round, while the one I got was long like the one in your picture above.) Is yucca root slimy when you peel it, prehaps? 😀

     
    • Jos

      April 14, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      Thanks! Yup, I totally agree with you that being Paleo does require more meal planning in advance. Takes a little a while to get used to and sometimes I do feel like I’m putting more stress to myself when I tried to cook as many dishes as possible over the weekend. But lately I try to just go with the flow and won’t sweat it if I can’t get everything done the way I want it to be.

      For the yucca, after I peeled it, it didn’t feel slimy at all..it was dry and quite hard to cut. Btw forgot to mention, for the yucca, you need to boil them first before baking it.

       
  2. Ameena

    April 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I have never had yucca before…it looks delicious! You have been cooking up a storm and it looks amazing..I am inspired to get into the kitchen when I get home. 🙂

     
    • Jos

      April 14, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks! Enjoy your vacay in London/Paris! 😀

       
  3. Eimear Rose

    April 13, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Don’t feel guilty- if you work out and you’re injured, you’ll make the injury x10 worse and you won’t be able to work out for aaages instead of just a couple of days if you had have just rested in the first place. We’re human, remember, not gods or action heroes so honour your body. Use the time to relax, as you say, maybe go for a little walk, not to get exercise but just look around you. Our ancestors didn’t ‘work out’ everyday, if the larder was full or they’d got a big kill the day before, they chilled out, relaxed, played games. Try it out:) And hope you feel better soon, you’ll enjoy your workouts even more after a break.

     
    • Jos

      April 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      Thanks for your great input! I definitely glad I took the day off tomorrow and today my neck felt a lot better, in fact no more stiff neck!

       

Leave a comment