RSS

Primal Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siew)

24 Apr

I’ve been wanting to make my own Chinese BBQ Pork (Primal way) so for sure I can’t depend on store bought sauce as they usually contain loads of sugar, corn syrup, msg, wheat and all other junks.

After researching various different recipes online, I finally came up with my own version and I had to say, this turned out pretty good!

Primal Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siew)
5-6 garlic cloves
2 star anise
1 Tbsp five spice powder
1-5 Tbsp raw honey
1 tsp white pepper
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika powder
1/4 cup tamari soy sauce (wheat free)
3 lbs pork butt

Directions:
1. Peel and mash the garlic using mortal/pestle or your favorite blender. Mix all the seasonings together.

2. Place the pork butt in a gallon size zip lock bag, and rub the marinate evenly. Pierce the meat with fork so it will absorb more of the marinate. Marinate for at least 1 hour or overnight for the best taste.

3. Pierce the rotisserie skewer into the pork butt. Tied the loose ends so the meat won’t flying around while rotating in the oven.
(Note: You can also use BBQ Grill. I don’t have one 🙂 )

4. Place the skewered pork butt in the oven. Bake in 325°F for 1 1/2 hour.

5. Remove the pork butt from the oven after it cooled down. Remove the skewer and cut off the strings.

6. Slice.

Enjoy! Not overly sweet, just perfect and it still has that distinct taste of Chinese BBQ Pork, minus the junk ingredients.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2011 in food, recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Primal Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siew)

  1. Juanita

    May 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I discovered your site from bodyrock.tv and I decided to give that recipe a try. I don’t have a rotisserie skewer, so I had to cook the pork in a large square pan uncovered. It was delicious and will be a repeat in my kitchen for sure! Next time, I think I will try collecting the marinade and heating it in a small saucepan to make a sauce to accompany the pork. Mmmmm…
    Thanks for an awesome recipe!

     
    • Jos

      May 18, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      Hi fellow Bodyrocker! You can just bake it regularly and turn it over halfway. It should work too. Collecting the marinate and make it as a sauce is a great idea as well! Thanks for visiting 🙂

       
  2. goatsandgreens

    April 29, 2011 at 4:45 am

    That looks lovely! I may adapt my pork picnic roast I plan to serve Sunday to something like this!

     
  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    April 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Oh, wow! This looks totally amazing!! I love all the spices you used (and their combination), and I’m so much going to make this! 😀

     
    • Jos

      April 26, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      Yay! Let me know how it turns out 😀

       
  4. buttoni

    April 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Man, this looks really good. Just wrote this recipe down and will try it next pork butt I cook.

     
    • Jos

      April 25, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      Nice! Let me know how it turns out 🙂

       
  5. stle57

    April 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Yes, thank you!! Where did you get the Rotisserie skewer? Does it have to be hanging in the oven? Probably huh?

     
    • Jos

      April 25, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      You’re welcome. My rotisserie skewer comes with my oven. I just got the oven from Walmart for $50 (GE brand).

       
  6. Melissa "Melicious" Joulwan

    April 25, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Thanks for this! I’m SUPER excited… been wanting to concoct a recipe for this myself. And now you’ve done the work for me. YAY!

     
    • Jos

      April 25, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      You’re welcome! Let me know how it turns out and thanks for visiting my little humble place 🙂

       

Leave a comment